On September 23, at 4pm, College of San Mateo will honor nine decades of its athletic legacy when it dedicates the Athletic Hall of Fame Plaza during a ribbon cutting ceremony. Sixteen former athletes and coaches will be inducted in the inaugural class of inductees and their names will be enshrined on granite and bronze pillars permanently on display in the Plaza.

This initial group of inductees includes former football players Bill Walsh, John Madden, Bill Ring, and Neal Dahlen, all of which have earned Super Bowl rings.

The college’s long football coaching tradition will be celebrated by the induction of coaches Murius McFadden, Herb Hudson, Bill Dickey, Ted Tollner, and Tom Martinez (also CSM’s pioneer woman’s basketball and softball coach).

Other athlete inductees are Olympic track gold medalist Archie Williams (400 meters in 1936), Olympic javelin thrower Nicole Carroll-Lewis, and softball star Jenny Freeman. The other Hall of Fame coaches are Jack Avina (men’s basketball), Ray Balsley (men’s basketball and golf), John Noce (baseball), and Bob Rush (track and field).

The ribbon cutting event is free and the public is invited. The induction ceremony and banquet will take place later that evening; pre-registration is required and the cost is $70 per person. Contact Andreas Wolf at (650) 574-6462 or wolf@smccd.edu for registration information.

The Hall of Fame class will be honored and introduced as part of the half-time program at CSM’s home football game on Saturday, September 24, against West Valley College; kickoff is at 1 pm.

For more information about the Hall of Fame visit collegeofsanmateo.edu/halloffame