The article below originally appeared on and is being reprinted with permission.

Scott Chiesa set a College of San Mateo record in the men’s javelin throw while Moreen Pahulu and Aaron Volkman won individual titles at Saturday’s Northern California Community College Track and Field Championships at De Anza College in Cupertino.

They will join 800-meter runner Zach Cantu and discus thrower Collin Luu among Bulldogs headed to the state championships Friday and Saturday at Mt. San Antonio College in Los Angeles County.

Chiesa’s throw of 214 feet, 7 inches took the lead in the fifth round of the javelin. But Alex Henderson of College of the Siskiyous responded to hit 225-9 for the victory. No other competitor surpassed 200 feet. Ben Foget set the former CSM record of 211-2 in 2000. He is the only other San Mateo athlete to exceed 200 feet for throws coach Mike Lewis.

Pahulu won the discus with a throw of 141-11 and also qualified for the state finals in the javelin throw (a close third at 120-2) and the hammer throw (fifth at 159-3). Her javelin throw was just 14 inches short of the winning mark.

Volkman won the men’s shot put at 54-10 1/4 and was fifth in the hammer throw (166-6) to become a double state qualifier.

Luu placed sixth in the men’s discus at 151-6 for a state finals berth.

In one of the day’s best races, Cantu had a personal best of 1 minutes, 55.16 seconds to place fifth in the men’s 800 — a time much faster than the winning 1:56.46 mark in the Southern California finals. State leader Logan Stahl of American River won the NorCal race in 1:53.44. Cantu grabbed the last state finals berth. The top four finishers from each region make the finals in lane races — plus the faster fifth placer.

In other events, CSM’s Mei-Lin Okino finished 11th in the women’s 3,000 meter steeplechase in 12:57.10 and Anthony Cortes was 14th in the men’s 5,000 meter (16:12.86).

The CSM men placed ninth in Northern California with 30 points, just ahead of De Anza (29). The San Mateo women were 13th with the 20 points tallied by Pahulu. American River won both the women’s and men’s team titles.